The Incline of Mindful exercise

Ridefulness
3 min readJul 26, 2020

The general public has started to recognize that fitness goes beyond physical improvements and are seeking to be more informed with a broader sight. We are seeing people less focused on fitness for weight loss and more curious about fitness for health, mental, emotional and social wellness for a greater life through exercise. This influencing trend is predominantly driven by “Millennials and Gen Z, the younger generation transiting into the fitness market and becoming the largest age demographic”(1). This shift has brought up the exercises that focus on the mental and wellness state, with the incline of Mindful exercise / movement.

What is Mindful exercise / movement?
“While fitness gets your heart pumping, mindful movement takes things down a notch. Mindful movement is all about slower, calmer exercises that promote strength, balance, and flexibility — a moment to breathe in this fast-paced world.(2)

Many people are feeling overworked, restless, struggling with mental fatigue and need to find ways to reduce the overwhelmingness in the mind. This has created “a powerful intersection between the fields of exercise/fitness and mental wellness. This growing intersection also brings other benefits, such as drawing more attention to breathing, balance, alignment, posture, injury prevention, recovery, and healing(3)”.

As I reflect on my life and observe my working environment as well as others, businesses are increasing the sense of urgency and moving at a faster pace. As a Creative Designer, my work demands the expectation of high standards, perfection outputs and quality of excellence. I could feel the built up stress bubbles and the high pressure moments which not only affected my productivity, it also streamed into my health and wellness and ultimately my relationships. What helped me maintain and sustain my energy, focus and positivity is cycling!

Cycling is my form of mindful exercise, where I can have moments to distress, reflect and bring awareness to my emotional state. I can observe my mind, how I think and let it flow from thoughts to thoughts, gaining understanding of my physical and emotional state to reassess, refresh and redeem the present moment.

This is where I discovered Ridefulness.

What is Ridefulness?

Exploring the cyclist-mind and reaching another state in physical health and mental wellness from riding experiences. The experience could be to explore and gather powerful personal insights and life lessons from riding. It’s the development of a special sense of connection between body and mind during the ride.

Minfulness is empting your mind of uneccessary thoughts and emotions. Feel your body, realign your energy and be present in the moment.

I have the opportunity to ride four to five times a week. My morning rides has helped me align my body, mind and spirit towards a purpose, open up my intentions and provides my energy to go forward for the day. For my evening rides, I have the time to consolidate the day and loosen the mind to just enjoy the peacefulness of being on the bicycle.

I realise how much cycling has strengthened my self-confidence by being available and willing to tackle challenges. Riding my bike gives me comfort, security and controlled freedom. As I ride, the environments, conditions and circumstances are constantly changing, presenting uncertainty and unfamiliarity. At the same time, I feel so comfortable, confident and strong on the bike, I don’t fear what’s ahead of me. I believe in my capability and ability to endure and go through the unknown. For what I feel today is painful but tomorrow is rewarding. From my cycling experiences, I am able to adapt and embrace the everyday life challenges by believing in myself, who I am, confidence to overcome obstacles and stronghold in my values, characteristics and beliefs. It’s a blissful pain to grow and become better.

How can Ridefulenss help you?

  1. Hop on a bike and pedal out
  2. Let your senses attune to the environment
  3. Settle into a pace, control your breathing
  4. Take a moment to think, wonder, ponder and
  5. lastly enjoy the ride.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. I love sharing my experiences of cycling and hope you enjoy the cycling experiences.

1 — https://www.ausleisure.com.au/news/les-mills-suggests-the-top-10-fitness-trends-for-2020/
2 & 3 — https://globalwellnessinstitute.org/press-room/press-releases/physical-activity-billion-market/

--

--

Ridefulness

Connecting with the cyclist-minded and reaching another state in physical health and mental wellness in riding experiences